New Hampshire State Treasury’s RETURNED MORE THAN $142,341,706 At Last Period.

Hampshire_State_Capitol

New Hampshire State Treasury’s Abandoned Property Division’s. Foremost priority is reuniting owners with their unclaimed property. This includes items such as bank accounts, shares of stock and associated dividends, insurance benefits, wages, security deposits and other funds that remain unclaimed for periods of three years or more.

How works Abandoned Property Division’s Program ?

Unclaimed property consists of abandoned financial assets such as checking and savings accounts, unpaid wages, securities, life insurance payouts, uncashed checks, and the proceeds of safe deposit boxes that are without activity for a certain period of time. It does not include real estate or vehicles.

The organization holding the potential unclaimed property makes every effort to contact the owner and establish activity through an online login, written correspondence, a withdrawal or deposit, or an update to personal information.

If these attempts do not produce activity, the asset is reported to the state of the owner’s last known address.

Unclaimed property laws began in the United States as a consumer protection program and they have evolved to protect not only the owners, but their heirs and estates as well. Once property is in the custody of the state and its unclaimed property program, an aggressive outreach effort begins through mailings, social media, advertisements, and local media coverage. The state will maintain custody of the property in perpetuity until the rightful owner or heirs come forward to claim.

How does property become unclaimed or abandoned?

Generally, if the property in question has not had any activity within a certain period of time, e.g. five years for most properties (three years for stock and associated dividends), and the holder is unable to locate the property owner, it is considered abandoned and must be reported to the Abandoned Property Division of the State Treasury.

To prevent your accounts from being unclaimed or abandoned, keep accounts active and make sure that you make a deposit or withdrawal, update your contact information, or contact your financial institution at least every year.

Does the State simply go in and take the money?

No. The statute is in place to protect your property. It requires holders of properties to account for them and deliver them to the Treasury. Unclaimed property is remitted to the State only after two things have occurred:

1. There has been no activity on the account for the applicable dormancy period, and
2. The holder has attempted to contact the owner at the last known address.

If these are unsuccessful, then the money is remitted to the State.

Does the State ever take ownership of unclaimed property?

No. The State of New Hampshire serves as a custodian of the assets and never takes ownership of them. Generations from now, a family member could claim your property with the right paperwork.

What attempts does your office make to find owners?

Annually Treasurer’s the office publishes all new names added to the Unclaimed Property list with property either in excess of $50.00 or in the form of stock/mutual fund shares. Postcards are also mailed to each such owner. Additionally, our database is frequently updated with the names of new owners at the same time removing the names of those individuals who are in the process of claiming their assets.

On-line searches for these assets can be done at any time. Outreach events are held across the state on a continual basis in an effort to locate owners.

REPORTING PROPERTY:

Is early reporting of property allowed?

Yes. With prior approval of the administrator. Section 471-C :29 II states “ A holder, with the written consent of the administrator and upon conditions and terms prescribed by the administrator, may report and deliver property before the property is presumed abandoned.

Property delivered under this paragraph must be held by the administrator and is not presumed abandoned until such time as it otherwise would be presumed abandoned under this chapter.”
Early reporting is typically approved when the facts presented indicate the early reporting will enhance the potential return of these funds to the rightful owner, or will provide for the most secure safekeeping of the asset.

Do we send the contents of safe deposit boxes to the Abandoned Property Division?

No, only any United States Savings Bonds contained therein. New Hampshire Law requires that the bank or credit union sell all contents with a commercial value via public auction and report as abandoned property only the auction proceeds that exceeded any fees, dues, or penalties the safe deposit box owner owed to the financial institution.

When is my report due? Is postmarked by that date ok?

Filing of an unclaimed property report is not considered to be complete until the report file has been uploaded and all remittances have been received by the Unclaimed Property Division by the due date of the report. Reports postmarked but not received by the due date of the report are considered to be late. RSA 471-C: 19 IV states: “The report shall be filed before November 1 of each year for property presumed to be abandoned as of June 30 of that year, but the report of any insurance company, including the report of unclaimed demutualization proceeds under RSA 471-C:7-a, shall be filed before May 1 of each year for funds owing under insurance policies presumed to be abandoned as of December 31 of the preceding year.”

UPLOAD CLAIM DOCUMENTATION

Document Submission Requirements:

  • Before uploading your image, please make sure the image is cropped to fit the document. Any non-essential portion of the image such as a white background from a scanner should be trimmed away.
  • Certain claims require original documents in order to process and therefore cannot be uploaded to the website. Please refer to your claim form to determine if your claim requires original documentation.   UPLOAD HERE.

SEARCH FOR YOUR CLAIM’S STATUS

NOTE: The Claim ID can be found on your claim form.

CLAIM YOUR’S

Reporting Process

You have 2 options to report.

MANUAL ONLINE REPORTING

2 NAUPA REPORT

REPORTING GUIDELINES

*NOTICE – CHANGES TO HOLDER REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
For holders reporting Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs): On January 1, 2020, the Internal Revenue Service’s Revenue Ruling 2018-17 will go into effect concerning withholding and reporting taxes with respect to payments from IRAs. Link to PDF Document

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY HOLDERS

The New Hampshire Unclaimed and Abandoned Property Law (RSA 471-C) requires all “persons/holders” to review their records annually to determine whether they are in possession of properties which have become dormant and are presumed to be abandoned.

REPORTING DEADLINES

Holder Type Period Ending Report and Remittance Due
Life Insurance December 31 April 30
Propery and Casualty Insurance December 31 April 30
Financial Services June 30 October 31
General Ledger June 30 October 31
Public Services/ Government June 30 October 31

Unclaimed Property Law

Section 471-C:2

    471-C:2 Property Presumed Abandoned. –
I. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, all intangible property, including any income or increment derived from it, less any lawful charges, that is held, issued, or owing in the ordinary course of a holder’s business and has remained unclaimed by the owner for more than 5 years after it became payable or distributable is presumed abandoned.
II. Property is payable or distributable for the purpose of this chapter notwithstanding the owner’s failure to make demand or to present any instrument or document required to receive payment.

Source. 1986, 204:1. 1995, 295:1, eff. Aug. 20, 1995.

USEFUL LINKS

National Association of State Treasurers

https://nast.org/

NAUPA

http://www.naupa.org/

Missing Money

www.missingmoney.com

Lost Pensions Search

https://www.pbgc.gov/

Source: newhampshire.findyourunclaimedproperty.com

Facebook Comments